Sustainability Connect 2018

STARS panel
Sustainbility Connect 2018

Imagine. Incubate. Impact

May 7, 2018, 8:30-2:30pm
Samberg Conference Center, E52, 7th Floor

MIT News Article on 2018 Connect
2018 Program
Tony Sharon
Welcoming Remarks

Julie Newman, Ph.D., Director, Office of Sustainability
Tony Sharon, Deputy Executive Vice President, Office of the Executive Vice President & Treasurer

Watch video here

Joi Ito
Keynote Address

Joi Ito, Director, MIT Media Lab

Watch video here

Christina Lo
Morning Panel: The state of sustainability at MIT

Brian Goldberg and Derek Wietsma, MITOS, in conversation with:

Amanda Graham, Executive Director of Environmental Solutions Initiative
Kate Trimble, Associate Dean, PKG Public Service Center
Christina Lo, Director of Strategic Sourcing and Contracts
Abigail Francis, Assistant Dean of LBGTQ+

Watch video here

Panel: Solving for Carbon Neutrality at MIT

Professor Tim Gutowski (MechE) and Julie Newman (MITOS) in conversation with:

Mechanical Engineering students, Julien Victor Barber, Caleb Amos Amy, Colin Clancy Kelsall, and Economics student Ignacio Ortega Castineiras

Watch video here

Incubator Award Speed Talks

Jeremy Gregory, Concrete Sustainability Hub; Randa Ghattas, Department of Facilities; Professor Kripa Varanasi, Mechanical Engineering

Watch video here

Learn more about the Sustainability Incubator Awards here


Heather Paxson
Lunchtime Keynote: Food & culture

Heather Paxson, MIT Professor of Anthropology

Watch video here

Sustainability Design Challenges

Participants self-selected into one of three design challenge wo rkshops on the following topics: Food & Sustainability; Campus Water Systems; and Pathway to Sustainability Leadership Implementation.